SAN DIEGO COUNTY - FARM & HOME ADVISOR
University of California
SAN DIEGO COUNTY - FARM & HOME ADVISOR

Office Directory

Office Information

San Diego County
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7711
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: cesandiego@ucanr.edu

Director

Photo of James A. Bethke James A. Bethke
Title: Farm Advisor
Specialty: Nurseries and Floriculture
Notes: For all Farm Advisor related questions please call my cell phone number at (951) 775-7172. For all County Director related questions please call my San Diego phone number at (858)822-7673.
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7673
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: jabethke@ucanr.edu

 

Staff List

Jump to:
County Director
Program Advisors
Program Support Staff
Administrative Staff
Emeritus


Program Advisors

Photo of Dr Oli Bachie Dr Oli Bachie
Title: County Director
Specialty: Field Crops
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension - Imperial County
1050 East Holton Road
Holtville, CA 92250-9615
Phone: (760) 352-9474
Fax: (760) 352-0846
Email: obachie@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Carmen Gispert Ph. D. Carmen Gispert Ph. D.
Title: Area Viticulture/Pest Management Advisor
Specialty: Wine and table grapes
Address:
Cooperative Extension Riverside County, Indio Office
81-077 Indio Blvd. Suite H
Indio, CA 92201-8362
Phone: (760) 342-2466
Fax: (760) 342-6490
Email: cgispert@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Ramiro E. Lobo Ramiro E. Lobo
Title: Small Farms & Agricultural Economics Advisor
Specialty: Farm management, marketing, agricultural economics, agricultural tourism, small farms, new/specialty crops
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858.246.1860
Fax: 858.822.7667
Email: relobo@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Sue S. Manglallan Sue S. Manglallan
Title: 4-H Youth and Family Development Advisor
Specialty: Volunteer management, leadership development, nonformal education, curriculum development, school-age child care, early literacy and school readiness, parenting, brain development in young children, youth at risk
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7773
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: ssmanglallan@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Chris McDonald Dr Chris McDonald
Title: Inland and Desert Natural Resources Advisor, County Co-Director San Bernardino
Specialty: invasive plants, weeds, native plant restoration, vegetation management,
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension - San Bernardino County
777 East Rialto Avenue
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0730
Phone: (909) 387-2242
Fax: (909) 387-3306
Email: cjmcdonald@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Jennifer Pelham Jennifer Pelham
Title: Area Environmental Horticulture Advisor
Specialty: Landscape, Master Gardener Academic Advisor in San Diego and Orange Counties
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: jlpelham@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Niamh Quinn Niamh Quinn
Title: Human-Wildlife Interactions Advisor
Address:
South Coast Research and Extension Center
7601 Irvine Blvd.
Irvine, CA 92618
Phone: 949-653-1813
Email: nmquinn@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Sonia Rios Sonia Rios
Title: Area Subtropical Horticulture Advisor
Address:
Cooperative Extension Riverside County
21150 Box Springs Road, Ste 202
Moreno Valley, CA 92557-8718
Phone: 951-683-6491 ext. 224
Email: sirios@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Cheryl A. Wilen Ph.D. Cheryl A. Wilen Ph.D.
Title: Area Integrated Pest Management Advisor. Also: IPM Advisor Extension Coordinator; Endemic and Invasive Pests and Diseases Strategic Initiative Leader
Specialty: Integrated Pest Management (IPM) for ornamental plant production and maintenance including nurseries, greenhouses, field production, floriculture, turf and landscape, pesticide reduction and alternatives. Research specialty in weed management, snails & slugs.
Notes: cell: 949-338-1842

For Home Gardening Pest Questions contact your local UC Master Gardener In San Diego:(858) 822-6910; Los Angeles:(626) 586-1988 mglosangeleshelpline@ucdavis.edu; Orange: email the OC MGs using hotline@uccemg.com For other counties see http://camastergardeners.ucdavis.edu/California_Counties_MG_Websites/ for phone number or email.
Address:
UCCE
9335 Hazard Way, Ste. 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7795
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: cawilen@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Patti C. Wooten Swanson Ph.D. Dr Patti C. Wooten Swanson Ph.D.
Title: Nutrition,  Family, and  Consumer Science Advisor
Specialty: Family Resource Management, Nutrition and Health, Food Safety, Adult Education
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7719
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: pwswanson@ucanr.edu

 

Program Support Staff

Photo of Myesha Bankhead Myesha Bankhead
Title: Community Education Specialist 2
Specialty: 4-H Military
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: mlbankhead@ucdavis.edu

 

Lea Corkidi
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: lcorkidi@ucanr.edu

 

Ben DiAnna
Title: Digital Media Specialist
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu

 

Isaac Elkon
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: imelkon@ucanr.ed

 

Photo of Jan Gonzales Jan Gonzales
Title: Project Coordinator
Specialty: Wildfire and Goldspotted Oak Borer education and outreach
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7718
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu

 

Debbie McAdams
Title: Program Representative II
Specialty: 4-H
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7735
Email: damcadams@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Scott Parker Scott Parker
Title: Program Representative III
Specialty: Master Gardener Program and IPM
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-6932
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: saparker@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Margarita Ramirez-Schwarz Margarita Ramirez-Schwarz
Title: Community Educator Specialist
Specialty: Adult EFNEP, Adult FSNEP
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7734
Email: mschwarz@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Lori Renstrom MA Lori Renstrom MA
Title: Administrative Officer 3
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7717
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: llrenstrom@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Derrick Robinson PhD Derrick Robinson PhD
Title: Academic Coordinator
Specialty: Money Talks (MT) Project
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-822-7679
Email: dearobinson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Shirley Salado Shirley Salado
Title: Community Education Supervisor 2
Specialty: Adult EFNEP Nutrition Educator
Address:
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858 822-7724
Fax: 858 822-7786
Email: scsalado@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Gary Tanizaki Gary Tanizaki
Title: Farm Advisor Field Assistant
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7689
Email: gtanizaki@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Leah Taylor Leah Taylor
Title: Agricultural Technician
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: leataylor@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Bryan Vander Mey Bryan Vander Mey
Title: Staff Research Associate II
Specialty: Eye Gnats
Address:
151 East Carmel
San Marcos, CA 92078
Phone: (760) 752-4724
Fax: 760 752-4725
Email: bvandermey@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Stella Weaver Stella Weaver
Title: Program Representative II
Specialty: Youth EFNEP, Adult EFNEP
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7720
Email: sweaver@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Marianne Whitehead Marianne Whitehead
Title: Agricultural Technician
Specialty: Floriculture, Nursery Crops, and Pest Management
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (760) 809-1510
Email: mwhitehead@ucanr.edu

 

Administrative Staff

Photo of Roland Hills Roland Hills
Title: Administrative Assistant II
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858.822-7933
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: rhills@ucanr.edu

 

Sue Lake
Title: Admin Asst. 3
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7854
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: slake@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Erin Thompson Erin Thompson
Title: Administrative Assistant I
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: enthompson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Mr Quang T. Tong Mr Quang T. Tong
Title: Administrative Assistant II
Address:
Farm and Home Advisors Office
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-534-0947
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: qtong@ucanr.edu

 

Emeritus

Photo of Gary S. Bender Ph.D., Emeritus Gary S. Bender Ph.D., Emeritus
Title: Farm Advisor-Emeritus
Specialty: Subtropical horticulture, deciduous fruit trees, irrigation, water quality, pest management, root rot and pathology of avocados and citrus, avocado canopy management
Address:
Gary Bender
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123-1222
Phone: (858) 534-5245
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: gsbender@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of H. Steve Dasher (Emeritus) H. Steve Dasher (Emeritus)
Title: 4-H Youth and Community Development Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: youth development, experiential learning, adolescent & community issues, volunteer management, science and agriculture literacy
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: hsdasher@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Leigh Taylor Johnson Leigh Taylor Johnson
Title: Coastal Resources Advisor, Emerita
Specialty: Policy Analysis, Coastal Water Quality, Aquatic Invasive Species, Water Supply, Recreational Boating
Address:
University of California Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: ltjohnson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Vincent F. Lazaneo (Emeritus) Vincent F. Lazaneo (Emeritus)
Title: Urban Horticulture Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: Urban horticulture and pest management education, Master Gardener Volunteer Program
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 578-4459
Email: vflazaneo@ucanr.edu

 
Webmaster Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu