Email Print Site Map
SAN DIEGO COUNTY
University of California
SAN DIEGO COUNTY

Office Directory

Office Information

San Diego County
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7711
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: cesandiego@ucanr.edu

Director

Photo of James A. Bethke James A. Bethke
Title: Farm Advisor
Specialty: Nurseries and Floriculture
County: San Diego County
Notes: For all Farm Advisor related questions please call my cell phone number at (951) 775-7172. For all County Director related questions please call my San Diego phone number at (858)822-7673.
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7673
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: jabethke@ucanr.edu

 

Staff List

Jump to:
County Director
Program Advisors
Cross County Advisors
Emeritus
Program Support Staff
4-H Development Program
Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program Staff
Administrative Staff


Program Advisors

Photo of Ramiro E. Lobo Ramiro E. Lobo
Title: Small Farms & Agricultural Economics Advisor
Specialty: Farm management, marketing, agricultural economics, agricultural tourism, small farms, new/specialty crops
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858.246.1860
Fax: 858.822.7667
Email: relobo@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Sue S. Manglallan Sue S. Manglallan
Title: 4-H Youth and Family Development Advisor
Specialty: Volunteer management, leadership development, nonformal education, curriculum development, school-age child care, early literacy and school readiness, parenting, brain development in young children, youth at risk
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7773
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: ssmanglallan@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Jennifer Pelham Jennifer Pelham
Title: Area Environmental Horticulture Advisor
Specialty: Landscape, Master Gardener Academic Advisor in San Diego and Orange Counties
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: jlpelham@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Cheryl A. Wilen Ph.D. Cheryl A. Wilen Ph.D.
Title: Area Integrated Pest Management Advisor. Also: IPM Extension Coordinator for Natrual Resources; Endemic and Invasive Pests and Diseases Strategic Initiative Leader
Specialty: Integrated Pest Management (IPM) for ornamental plant production and maintenance including nurseries, greenhouses, field production, floriculture, turf and landscape, pesticide reduction and alternatives. Research specialty in weed management, snails & slugs.
County: San Diego County
Notes: cell: 949-338-1842

For Home Gardening Pest Questions contact your local UC Master Gardener In San Diego:(858) 822-6910; Los Angeles:(626) 586-1988 mglosangeleshelpline@ucdavis.edu; Orange: email the OC MGs using hotline@uccemg.com For other counties see http://camastergardeners.ucdavis.edu/California_Counties_MG_Websites/ for phone number or email.
Address:
UCCE
9335 Hazard Way, Ste. 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7795
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: cawilen@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Patti C. Wooten Swanson Ph.D. Dr Patti C. Wooten Swanson Ph.D.
Title: Nutrition,  Family, and  Consumer Science Advisor
Specialty: Family Resource Management, Nutrition and Health, Food Safety, Adult Education
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7719
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: pwswanson@ucanr.edu

 

Cross County Advisors

Photo of Dr Oli Gurmu Bachie Dr Oli Gurmu Bachie
Title: County Director
Specialty: Agronomy / Field Crops
County: Imperial County
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension - Imperial County
1050 East Holton Road
Holtville, CA 92250-9615
Phone: (442) 265-7700
Fax: (442) 265-7723
Email: obachie@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Carmen Gispert Ph. D. Carmen Gispert Ph. D.
Title: Area Viticulture/Pest Management Advisor
Specialty: Wine and table grapes
Unit: Indio Office
Address:
Cooperative Extension Riverside County, Indio Office
81-077 Indio Blvd. Suite H
Indio, CA 92201-8362
Phone: (760) 342-2466
Fax: (760) 342-6490
Email: cgispert@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Chris McDonald Dr Chris McDonald
Title: Inland and Desert Natural Resources Advisor, County Co-Director San Bernardino
Specialty: invasive plants, weeds, native plant restoration, vegetation management,
County: San Bernardino County
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension - San Bernardino County
777 East Rialto Avenue
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0730
Phone: (909) 387-2242
Fax: (909) 387-3306
Email: cjmcdonald@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Niamh Quinn Niamh Quinn
Title: Human-Wildlife Interactions Advisor
County: Orange County - UC Cooperative Extension
Address:
South Coast Research and Extension Center
7601 Irvine Blvd.
Irvine, CA 92618
Phone: 949 301-9182 x1004
Email: nmquinn@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Sonia Rios Sonia Rios
Title: Area Subtropical Horticulture Advisor
County: Riverside County
Address:
Cooperative Extension Riverside County
21150 Box Springs Road, Ste 202
Moreno Valley, CA 92557-8718
Phone: 951-683-6491 ext. 224
Email: sirios@ucanr.edu

 

Emeritus

Photo of Gary S. Bender Ph.D., Emeritus Gary S. Bender Ph.D., Emeritus
Title: Farm Advisor-Emeritus
Specialty: Subtropical horticulture, deciduous fruit trees, irrigation, water quality, pest management, root rot and pathology of avocados and citrus, avocado canopy management
County: San Diego North County Office
Address:
Gary Bender
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123-1222
Phone: (858) 534-5245
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: gsbender@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of H. Steve Dasher (Emeritus) H. Steve Dasher (Emeritus)
Title: 4-H Youth and Community Development Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: youth development, experiential learning, adolescent & community issues, volunteer management, science and agriculture literacy
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: hsdasher@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Leigh Taylor Johnson Leigh Taylor Johnson
Title: Coastal Resources Advisor, Emerita
Specialty: Policy Analysis, Coastal Water Quality, Aquatic Invasive Species, Water Supply, Recreational Boating
Address:
University of California Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: ltjohnson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Vincent F. Lazaneo (Emeritus) Vincent F. Lazaneo (Emeritus)
Title: Urban Horticulture Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: Urban horticulture and pest management education, Master Gardener Volunteer Program
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 578-4459
Email: vflazaneo@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Terrell P. Salmon Ph.D. (Emeritus) Terrell P. Salmon Ph.D. (Emeritus)
Specialty: Vertebrate pest control; vertebrate ecology; animal damage (rodents and misc vertebrates); bird damage; predators
Unit: Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology
Address:
Wildlife, Fish, & Conservation Biology
One Shields Avenue
1088 Academic Surge Building
Davis, CA 95616-8751
Phone: 858 344-0365
Email: tpsalmon@ucdavis.edu

 

Program Support Staff

Photo of Abigail Fayrose Barraza Abigail Fayrose Barraza
Title: Community Education Specialist II
Specialty: Outreach and Education
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: afbarraza@ucanr.edu

 

Lea Corkidi
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: lcorkidi@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Ben DiAnna Ben DiAnna
Title: Digital Media Specialist
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Jan Gonzales Jan Gonzales
Title: Project Coordinator
Specialty: Wildfire and Goldspotted Oak Borer education and outreach
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7718
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu

 

Annika Nabors
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: ajnabors@ucanr.edu

 

Robert Padilla
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: rapadilla@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Scott Parker Scott Parker
Title: Program Representative III
Specialty: Master Gardener Program and IPM
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-6932
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: saparker@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Derrick Robinson PhD Derrick Robinson PhD
Title: Academic Coordinator
Specialty: Money Talks (MT) Project
County: San Diego County
Address:
Youth, Families, & Communities
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-822-7679
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: dearobinson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Leah Taylor Leah Taylor
Title: Staff Research Associate
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: leataylor@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Bryan Vander Mey Bryan Vander Mey
Title: Staff Research Associate II
Specialty: Eye Gnats
County: San Diego North County Office
Address:
151 East Carmel
San Marcos, CA 92078
Phone: (760) 752-4724
Fax: 760 752-4725
Email: bvandermey@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Marianne Whitehead Marianne Whitehead
Title: Agricultural Technician
Specialty: Floriculture, Nursery Crops, and Pest Management
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (760) 809-1510
Email: mwhitehead@ucanr.edu

 

4-H Development Program

Photo of Myesha Bankhead Myesha Bankhead
Title: Community Education Specialist 2
Specialty: 4-H Military
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: mlbankhead@ucdavis.edu

 

Debbie McAdams
Title: Program Representative II
Specialty: 4-H
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7735
Email: damcadams@ucanr.edu

 

Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program Staff

Photo of Isaac Elkon Isaac Elkon
Title: Community Education Specialist I
Specialty: Youth EFNEP, Adult EFNEP
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 8588227677
Email: imelkon@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Ms Mary Maser Ms Mary Maser
Title: Community Education Program Specialist I
Specialty: Adult Nutrition
County: San Diego North County Office
Address:
Farm & Home Advisors Office
9335 Hazard Way Ste 201
201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-263-6010
Email: mlmaser@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Margarita Ramirez-Schwarz Margarita Ramirez-Schwarz
Title: Community Educator Specialist
Specialty: Adult EFNEP
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7734
Email: mschwarz@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Shirley Salado Shirley Salado
Title: Community Education Supervisor 2
Specialty: Adult EFNEP Nutrition Educator
County: San Diego County
Address:
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858 822-7724
Fax: 858 822-7786
Email: scsalado@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Stella Weaver Stella Weaver
Title: Program Representative II
Specialty: Youth EFNEP, Adult EFNEP
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7720
Email: sweaver@ucanr.edu

 

Administrative Staff

Photo of Roland Hills Roland Hills
Title: Administrative Assistant II
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858.822-7933
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: rhills@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Sue Lake Sue Lake
Title: Admin Asst. 3
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7854
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: slake@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Lori Renstrom MA Lori Renstrom MA
Title: Administrative Officer 3
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7717
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: llrenstrom@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Gary Tanizaki Gary Tanizaki
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7689
Email: gtanizaki@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Erin Thompson Erin Thompson
Title: Administrative Assistant I
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: enthompson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Mr Quang T. Tong Mr Quang T. Tong
Title: Administrative Assistant II
County: San Diego County
Address:
Farm and Home Advisors Office
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-534-0947
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: qtong@ucanr.edu

 
Webmaster Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu