Office Directory

Office Information

San Diego County
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7711
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: cesandiego@ucanr.edu

County Director

Program Advisors

Photo of Ramiro E. Lobo
Ramiro E. Lobo
Title: Small Farms & Agricultural Economics Advisor
Specialty: Farm management, marketing, agricultural economics, agricultural tourism, small farms, new/specialty crops
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858.246.1860
Fax: 858.822.7667
Email: relobo@ucanr.edu
Photo of Sue S. Manglallan
Sue S. Manglallan
Title: 4-H Youth and Family Development Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: Volunteer management, leadership development, nonformal education, curriculum development, school-age child care, early literacy and school readiness, parenting, brain development in young children, youth at risk
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858)822-7773
Email: ssmanglallan@ucanr.edu
Photo of Cheryl A. Wilen Ph.D.
Cheryl A. Wilen Ph.D.
Title: San Diego County Interim Director and Area Integrated Pest Management Advisor. Also: IPM Extension Coordinator for Natural Resources; Interim County Director of San Diego
Specialty: Integrated Pest Management (IPM) for ornamental plant production and maintenance including nurseries, greenhouses, field production, floriculture, turf and landscape, pesticide reduction and alternatives. Research specialty in weed management, snails & slugs.
Unit: Integrated Pest Management (IPM) Statewide Program
Notes: cell: 949-338-1842

For Home Gardening Pest Questions contact your local UC Master Gardener In San Diego:(858) 822-6910; Los Angeles:(626) 586-1988 mglosangeleshelpline@ucdavis.edu; Orange: email the OC MGs using hotline@uccemg.com For other counties see http://camastergardeners.ucdavis.edu/California_Counties_MG_Websites/ for phone number or email.
Address:
UCCE
9335 Hazard Way, Ste. 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7795
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: cawilen@ucanr.edu

Cross County Advisors

Photo of Dr Oli Gurmu Bachie
Dr Oli Gurmu Bachie
Title: Imperial County Director
Specialty: Agronomy / Field Crops
County: Imperial County
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension - Imperial County
1050 East Holton Road
Holtville, CA 92250-9615
Phone: (442) 265-7700
Fax: (442) 265-7723
Email: obachie@ucanr.edu
Photo of Carmen Gispert Ph. D.
Carmen Gispert Ph. D.
Title: Area Viticulture/Pest Management Advisor
Specialty: Wine and table grapes
Unit: Indio Office
Address:
Cooperative Extension Riverside County, Indio Office
81-077 Indio Blvd. Suite H
Indio, CA 92201-8362
Phone: (760) 342-2466
Fax: (760) 342-6490
Email: cgispert@ucanr.edu
Photo of Dr Chris McDonald
Dr Chris McDonald
Title: Inland and Desert Natural Resources Advisor, County Co-Director San Bernardino
Specialty: invasive plants, weeds, native plant restoration, vegetation management,
County: San Bernardino County
Address:
UC Cooperative Extension - San Bernardino County
777 East Rialto Avenue
San Bernardino, CA 92415-0730
Phone: (909) 387-2242
Fax: (909) 387-3306
Email: cjmcdonald@ucanr.edu
Photo of Niamh Quinn
Niamh Quinn
Title: Human-Wildlife Interactions Advisor
County: Orange County - UC Cooperative Extension
Address:
South Coast Research and Extension Center
7601 Irvine Blvd.
Irvine, CA 92618
Phone: 949 301-9182 x1004
Email: nmquinn@ucanr.edu
Photo of Sonia Rios
Sonia Rios
Title: Area Subtropical Horticulture Advisor
County: Riverside County
Address:
Cooperative Extension Riverside County
21150 Box Springs Road, Ste 202
Moreno Valley, CA 92557-8718
Phone: 951-683-6491 ext. 224
Email: sirios@ucanr.edu

Emeritus

Photo of Dr Gary S. Bender Ph.D., Emeritus
Dr Gary S. Bender Ph.D., Emeritus
Title: Farm Advisor-Emeritus
Specialty: Subtropical horticulture, deciduous fruit trees, irrigation, water quality, pest management, root rot and pathology of avocados and citrus, avocado canopy management
County: San Diego North County Office
Address:
Gary Bender
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123-1222
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: gsbender@ucanr.edu
Photo of James A. Bethke
James A. Bethke
Title: Farm Advisor - Emeritus
Specialty: Nurseries and Floriculture
County: San Diego County
Notes: For all Farm Advisor related questions please call my cell phone number at (951) 775-7172. For all County Director related questions please call my San Diego phone number at (858)822-7673.
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7673
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: jabethke@ucanr.edu
Photo of H. Steve Dasher (Emeritus)
H. Steve Dasher (Emeritus)
Title: 4-H Youth and Community Development Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: youth development, experiential learning, adolescent & community issues, volunteer management, science and agriculture literacy
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: hsdasher@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Leigh Taylor Johnson
Leigh Taylor Johnson
Title: Coastal Resources Advisor, Emerita
Specialty: Policy Analysis, Coastal Water Quality, Aquatic Invasive Species, Water Supply, Recreational Boating
Address:
University of California Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: ltjohnson@ucanr.edu
Photo of Vincent F. Lazaneo (Emeritus)
Vincent F. Lazaneo (Emeritus)
Title: Urban Horticulture Advisor, Emeritus
Specialty: Urban horticulture and pest management education, Master Gardener Volunteer Program
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 578-4459
Email: vflazaneo@ucanr.edu
Photo of Terrell P. Salmon Ph.D. (Emeritus)
Terrell P. Salmon Ph.D. (Emeritus)
Title: Farm Advisor - Emeritus
Specialty: Vertebrate pest control; vertebrate ecology; animal damage (rodents and misc vertebrates); bird damage; predators
Unit: Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology
Address:
Wildlife, Fish, & Conservation Biology
One Shields Avenue
1088 Academic Surge Building
Davis, CA 95616-8751
Phone: 858 344-0365
Email: tpsalmon@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Dr Patti C. Wooten Swanson Ph.D.
Dr Patti C. Wooten Swanson Ph.D.
Title: Nutrition,  Family, and  Consumer Science Advisor - Emeritus
Specialty: Family Resource Management, Nutrition and Health, Food Safety, Adult Education
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7719
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: pwswanson@ucanr.edu

Program Support Staff

Photo of Lea Corkidi
Lea Corkidi
Title: Staff Research Associate 2
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: lcorkidi@ucanr.edu
Photo of Ben DiAnna
Ben DiAnna
Title: Digital Media Specialist
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: bdianna@ucanr.edu
Photo of Jan Gonzales
Jan Gonzales
Title: Project Coordinator
Specialty: Wildfire and Goldspotted Oak Borer education and outreach
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7718
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: jggonzales@ucanr.edu
Photo of Esther Mosase Ph.D
Esther Mosase Ph.D
Title: CMTY EDUC SPEC II
Specialty: Water Resources Engineering, Surfacewater Modeling, Groundwater Modelling, LID Practices, Remote Sensing, GIS, Climate Resources, Programming
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: enmosase@ucanr.edu
Photo of Annika Nabors
Annika Nabors
Title: Lab Assistant 2
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: ajnabors@ucanr.edu
Photo of Robert Padilla
Robert Padilla
Title: Media Communications Specialist 1
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: rapadilla@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Scott Parker
Scott Parker
Title: Program Representative III
Specialty: Master Gardener Program and IPM
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858)822-6932
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: saparker@ucanr.edu
Photo of Leah Taylor
Leah Taylor
Title: Staff Research Associate
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: leataylor@ucanr.edu
Photo of Bryan Vander Mey
Bryan Vander Mey
Title: Field Research Supervisor 1
Specialty: Eye Gnats
County: San Diego County
Address:
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (760) 846-0677
Email: bvandermey@ucanr.edu

4-H Development Program

Photo of Myesha Bankhead
Myesha Bankhead
Title: Community Education Specialist 2
Specialty: 4-H Military
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: mlbankhead@ucdavis.edu
Photo of Debbie McAdams
Debbie McAdams
Title: Program Representative II
Specialty: 4-H
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7735
Email: damcadams@ucanr.edu

Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program Staff

Photo of Ms Mary Maser
Ms Mary Maser
Title: Community Education Specialist I
Specialty: Adult EFNEP
County: San Diego North County Office
Address:
UCCE
9335 Hazard Way Ste 201
201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-263-6010
Email: mlmaser@ucanr.edu
Photo of Margarita Ramirez-Schwarz
Margarita Ramirez-Schwarz
Title: Community Education Specialist 1
Specialty: Adult EFNEP
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7734
Email: mschwarz@ucanr.edu
Photo of Shirley Salado
Shirley Salado
Title: Community Education Supervisor 2
Specialty: EFNEP Supervisor
County: San Diego County
Address:
9335 Hazard Way, Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858 822-7724
Fax: 858 822-7786
Email: scsalado@ucanr.edu
Photo of Stella Weaver
Stella Weaver
Title: Community Education Specialist 1
Specialty: EFNEP Youth Educator
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7720
Email: sweaver@ucanr.edu

Administrative Staff

Photo of Sue Lake
Sue Lake
Title: Admin Asst. 3
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7854
Fax: 858-822-7667
Email: slake@ucanr.edu
Photo of Lea O'Reilly
Lea O'Reilly
Title: Administrative Assistant 2
County: San Diego County
Address:
UCCE North County Satellite Office
420 S. Broadway
858-221-2082
Escondido, CA 92025
Phone: 858-221-2082
Email: lboreilly@ucanr.edu
Photo of Lori Renstrom MA
Lori Renstrom MA
Title: Administrative Officer 3
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7717
Fax: (858) 822-7667
Email: llrenstrom@ucanr.edu
Photo of Erin N Spaniel
Erin N Spaniel
Title: Administrative Assistant II
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: 858-822-7919
Email: enspaniel@ucanr.edu
Photo of Gary Tanizaki
Gary Tanizaki
Title: Administrative Assistant 2
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Phone: (858) 822-7689
Email: gtanizaki@ucanr.edu

Staff

Photo of Guy Hernandez
Guy Hernandez
County: San Diego County
Address:
Cooperative Extension
9335 Hazard Way
Suite 201
San Diego, CA 92123
Email: gghernandez@ucanr.edu